About Patient Safety

As the journal of the Patient Safety Authority, committed to the vision of “safe healthcare for all patients,” Patient Safety (ISSN 2689-0143) is fully open access and highlights original research, advanced analytics, and hot topics in healthcare.

The mission of this publication is to inform and advise clinicians, administrators, and patients on preventing harm and improving safety, by providing evidence-based, original research; editorials addressing current and sometimes controversial topics; and analyses from one of the world’s largest adverse event reporting databases.

We invite you to submit manuscripts that align with our mission. We’re particularly looking for well-written original research articles, reviews, commentaries, case studies, data analyses, quality improvement studies, or other manuscripts that will advance patient safety.

All articles are published under the Creative Commons Attribution – Noncommercial license, unless otherwise noted. The current issue is available at patientsafetyj.com.

The patient is central to everything we do. Patient Safety complies with the Patients Included™ journal charter, which requires at least two patient members on the editorial board; regular publication of editorials, reviews, or research articles authored by patients; and peer review by patients.

Articles are published online on a rolling basis throughout the year. Selected articles are published in a special print issue and online each December.

Articles accepted for publication do not necessarily reflect practices or opinions endorsed by the Patient Safety Authority.

Production Staff

Regina M. Hoffman, MBA, RN, Editor-in-Chief
Caitlyn Allen, MPH, Managing Editor
Eugene Myers, BA, Associate Editor
Jackie Peck, BS, Layout Editor
Shawn Kepner, MS, Data Editor
Krista Soverino, BA, Graphics

Editorial Board

Joshua Atkins, MD, PhD, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Russell Baxley, MHA, Beaufort Memorial Hospital
Michael A. Bruno, MD, Penn State Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Daniel Cantillon, MD, Cleveland Clinic
Michael R. Cohen, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.), RPh, Institute for Safe Medication Practices
Daniel D. Degnan, PharmD, Purdue University School of Pharmacy
Barbara Fain, JD, MPP, Betsy Lehman Center for Patient Safety
Kelly Gleason, PhD, RN, Johns Hopkins School of Nursing
Julia A. Haller, MD, Wills Eye Hospital
Jennifer Hamm, BS, Fred Hamm, Inc.
Martin J. Hatlie, JD, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety
Ann Hendrich, PhD, RN, Building Age-Friendly Health Systems, John A. Hartford Foundation; formerly Ascension Healthcare
Mark Jarrett, MD, MBA, MS, Northwell Health
Matthew Keris, Esq., Marshall Dennehey Warner Coleman & Goggin
Stephen Lawless, MD, MBA, Nemours Children’s Health System
Michael Leonard, MD, Safe & Reliable Healthcare LLC
James McClurken, MD, Doylestown Health, Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University
Patrick J. McDonnell, PharmD, Temple University School of Pharmacy
Dwight McKay, BSL, Lancaster Rehabilitation Hospital
Ferdinando L. Mirarchi, DO, UPMC Hamot
Dona Molyneaux, PhD, RN, Frances M. Maquire School of Nursing and Health Professions, Gwynedd Mercy University; Jefferson Health
Rustin B. Morse, MD, Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Brigitta Mueller, MD, MHCM, MSJ, ECRI
Adam Novak, MA, Michigan Health & Hospital Association
Barbara Pelletreau, MPH, RN, Dignity Health
Julia C. Prentice, PhD, Betsy Lehman Center for Patient Safety
Mitesh Rao, MD, MHS, Stanford School of Medicine
Cheryl Richardson, DrPH, RN, Penn State Milton S. Hershey Med. Center
Lisa Rodebaugh, BS, Mercy Ministries
Jeffrey Stone, PhD, Penn State University
Jennifer Taylor, PhD, Drexel University
Carlos A. Urrea, MD, MPH, Baxter
Linda Waddell, MSN, RN, Wolff Center at UPMC (retired)
Eric Weitz, Esq., The Weitz Firm LLC
Margaret Wojnar, MD, MEd, Penn State College of Medicine
Zane R. Wolf, PhD, RN, La Salle University
Ronald Wyatt, MD, MHA, MCIC Vermont


A special thanks to our reviewers:

Pamela N. Garabedian, MS, Mass General Brigham
Joseph Haduch, MBA, MS, UPMC
William Marella, MMI, MBA, HealthShare Exchange
Darla S. Marks, MSN, RN-BC, Penn State Milton S. Hershey Med. Center
Michael McShea, Johns Hopkins University - Applied Physics Lab
Steve Mrozowski, MHA, NRP, Cleveland Clinic
SaraKay Smullens, MSW, LCSW
Rebecca Toothaker, PhD, RN, Commonwealth University-Bloomsburg Campus
Carlos A. Urrea, MD, MPH, Baxter

Patient Safety Authority
333 Market Street - Lobby Level
Harrisburg, PA 17101

Together we save lives.